TRANSLATION – Macross Vol. V: MACROSS LOVE

Macross Love

This one is probably superfluous, but again, was a “translation” that I started way back in 2009 and picked up and completed a few months ago. It’s (most of) the second disc on Super Dimension Fortress Macross Vol. V: Rhapsody in Love/Macross Love, and was also released later as its own album. It tries to boil down the Macross TV series to forty-five minutes, and is pretty incoherent as a result, seeming more like a collection of unrelated scenes than an actual story.

The process of “translating” it was boring rather than difficult: I figured out where every scene was located in the series, and then pasted the subtitles in to MS Word, and formatted it. There are only two new lines in the whole thing (can YOU figure out where they are…?).

Probably the most interesting part on the album is the CD bonus track: an interview with some of the cast members, but I honestly find commentary tracks like that to be MUCH too difficult to translate, so I didn’t attempt it. Maybe someday, but probably not.

So yeah, with this done now, I’ve finished all of the ’80s material related to the TV series that I’m probably going to do. There is still the novelization trilogy, but as I’ve explained elsewhere, it’s really not very good, and I found the process of working on them pretty unsatisfying. There’s nothing “new” or terribly interesting in them beyond the first chapter, anyway, which I have completed.

So yeah, my next project… I feel pretty intimidated by this, since it’s the most ambitious project I’ve yet started, but I began working on the novelization of Do You Remember Love a while back. It’s slow going, but pretty interesting, since (so far, at least) nothing that happens in the book happened in the movie. I’m sure that will change it goes on, but glancing ahead, it seems like there are enough difference between the two versions that I’m really excited about it. We’ll see how it goes.

I tend not to like to upload works until they’re complete, but in order to keep this blog going, I’m probably going to put chapters up as I finish them. These will necessarily be rough drafts, and I’ll continue to revise earlier chapters as I go on. Anyway, expect the first chapter next month.

One thought on “TRANSLATION – Macross Vol. V: MACROSS LOVE

  1. Hey Gubaba:
    I thank you for finishing your Macross 80’s translations because I could not follow any of those Macross drama OSTs. I just had to know more about Macross. I understand you on not producing fan video constructions based on your translations. And I really look forward to your DYRL novel translations! Good stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

