No, Delta was NOT Extended After Epsiode 3 Aired…

error

I kinda want to think of this post as, if not a public service announcement, then at least a corrective measure. And I hope it’s widely read.

Fan theories and errors, especially in anime fandom, somehow have a way of becoming fossilized very quickly. Within months, they can become received wisdom, even if they’re completely made up. There’s one that I’ve noticed cropping up this week, and I’d like to nip it in the bud (if I can). Because if no one does, it’s going to be an extremely persistent little bugger that’s going to haunt Macross Delta for decades.

(You think I’m exaggerating? I *still* hear that the missiles added to the tail fins of Max’s Valk in SDF Macross Ep. 10 were an “animation error,” or that Sheryl Nome was slated to die early on in Frontier, but positive fan reaction saved her. Neither has a shred of truth to it.)

In this case, just this last week, I’ve seen several posts saying that any “pacing” or script problems with Delta are due to it getting extended (from thirteen episodes and a movie to twenty-six episodes) after Episode Three was aired. I’ve seen it on Facebook, on Animesuki, on Twitter… all by different people.

You all know what I’m gonna say… It’s not true. It’s completely wrong.

Now, as I said a few posts ago, an interview came out with Vol. 2 of the DVD/BD of Delta, where a staff member mentioned that the show got changed from one-cour-plus-a-movie to two cours (still plus-a-movie…? Damn, I sure HOPE so!).

The thing is, the guy DIDN’T say it happened during the PRODUCTION of Episode 4, he said it happened during the initial SCRIPTING of Episode 4.

It’s an easy mistake to make, I guess (although some of the people talking about it REALLY should’ve known better), but it makes a lot of difference. The SCRIPTING of Episode 4 probably happened over a year or so ago. The PRODUCTION would’ve been (I’m guessing) February or March of this year (maybe later, if they were behind). One narrative gives the staff plenty of time to adjust. One leaves them scrambling.

So (and let me make this plain): anyone who says the series was extended AFTER the show had started airing is simply WRONG. They’re either mistaken, or they’re lying. If anyone says this in your presence, feel free to scoff. Link to this post if you wish (PLEASE).

In a way, if you don’t like the second cour, I guess this makes the staff look worse, since they still had a lot of time to create a satisfying series, and (for you) couldn’t pull it off. I couldn’t care less, really. As long as we’re all clear on the facts, what you make of those facts is up to you.

Here’s the photo that caused all the ruckus. Translate it yourself.

bd2-interview-segment

See…?

In other news, I’m about halfway done with Chapter 2 (“Fire and Wings”) of the Delta novel, so if I continue to bear down on it, I should be able to have it up by the time the final episode of the show airs. And that’s cool, right? (And, as always (for the time being), the next chapter of the Do You Remember Love novelization will be up the first Sunday of the month. October’s chapter is quite a bit longer than September’s was, so check it out! You’ll find out quite a bit about young Hikaru’s love life!).

6 thoughts on “No, Delta was NOT Extended After Epsiode 3 Aired…

  1. !! That’s what people were saying? Guess I shouldn’t have stopped paying attention to the AS episode threads!

    The SCRIPTING of Episode 4 probably happened over a year or so ago. The PRODUCTION would’ve been (I’m guessing) February or March of this year (maybe later, if they were behind).

    With regards to the production (= everything after the storyboard), going by the (ideal) schedule that came with a SHIROBAKO book I bought, I’d say production of episode 4 would have started in January, running through to a week or two before the episode aired.

    On the other hand, I think your timing for the scripting of the episode is probably roughly right, though I hope someone will give more details on this in an interview down the line. If enough is revealed about it in interviews, I’ll try to do a production timeline rundown like what I did with another series last year…well, eventually, anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for clearing up this misunderstanding. You did early enough for it to hopefully not become set in stone that they changed into a two cour while it had already started. I hope it was just an honest error in translation and not someone intentionally trying to deceive us. Like you say, it might actually not make the staff look too well considering the dip the story took after episode 13, but the truth should be paramount.

      Like

  2. “In other news, I’m about halfway done with Chapter 2 (“Fire and Wings”) of the Delta novel, so if I continue to bear down on it, I should be able to have it up by the time the final episode of the show airs. And that’s cool, right?”

    God bless your beautiful soul.

    Like

Leave a Reply

