THE GREAT MACROSS REWATCH – Delta Mini-Theatre 1

Delta Mini 1

DELTA MINI-THEATRE (VOLUME 1)

ICONIC SCENE: “This is SCIENCE! Not MAGIC!”

RELEASE DATE: July 26, 2016

On the Macross Delta BD/DVDs (along with EXCELLENT English subtitles) there are some fun short films. They’re done with VERY limited animation, in a style close to a lot of the extra Frontier material (like “Macross Fufonfia” and the “Super Dimension Seminar”), so much so that I thought at first that they were done by the same studio, the memorably-named I Was a Ballerina Co., Ltd. But no, these are done by Studio PuYUKAI, who I’d never heard of before.

Most of it, naturally, is just silly jokes, but the first installment here of “Go! Aerial Knights” contains a lot of information about Walküre’s body suits (which are said here to be bullet-proof, despite what happens later in the series), their gas jet clusters, and their “fold projectors” that create the holographic costumes.

The part that I love, though, as my “iconic scene” indicates, is when the Aerial Knights say that Walküre’s outfits seem like magic, and Reina sternly cries, “This is science, not magic!” Considering how often I’ve seen viewers say they hate the “magic” in Delta, I laughed out loud when I first saw this.

Like the Macross 7 P*L*U*S shorts, I’d say that these aren’t essential for watching the series, but I think they’re a treat, and it would be a shame to miss them.

One thought on “THE GREAT MACROSS REWATCH – Delta Mini-Theatre 1

  1. I can’t help but be amused that Theo and Xiao have much bigger parts in these shorts than they do in the series. Personally I think they were created specifically for the Aerial Knights manga.

    Like

Leave a Reply

